Fisher Electorate

About Fisher

The electorate of Fisher was named after Andrew Fisher (1862-1928), Prime Minister of Australia 1908-09, 1910-13 and 1914-15.

First proclaimed in 1949, the rural seat of Fisher covers area of 1170 sq kms from part of Alexandra Headland in the north, west to Cambroon and Conondale, south to Beerburrum and east to the coast. Majors towns and population centres include Caloundra, Sippy Downs, the coastal strip Kawana, Minyama and Mooloolaba, Montville, Maleny, Beerwah, Beerburrum, Glass House Mountains and Landsborough.

Tourism, service industries, construction and development are the major employers. Other industries include health, education, fisheries and agriculture.

Andrew Wallace MP in Mary Cairncross Park

Previous Members:

Brough, M (LNQ) 2013-2016
Slipper, P (LNQ) 1993-2013
Lavarch, M H (ALP) 1987-1993
Slipper, P N (NP) 1984-1987
Adermann, A E (CP/NCP) 1972-1984
Adermann, C F (CP) 1949-1972

Not sure what electorate you live in?